Business School wins Small Business Charter Award


News image

Edinburgh Napier University’s Business School has won a national award for its work supporting start-ups and small businesses.

The School has been awarded a bronze for its role within the Small Business Charter Award scheme, which was launched to bring UK business schools, business and entrepreneurs closer together.

Judges noted the 250-plus student start-ups the School has supported over the last decade, as well as the hundreds of local SMEs it works with annually to help them reach their potential

The award means the School will now be able to play an active role in schemes such as Growth Vouchers, Growth Accelerators and Start-Up Loans provided by the Government

It was among 20 UK business schools – and one of only two Scottish universities – recognised for their work at a ceremony held at 10 Downing Street.

Lord Young, the Prime Minister’s Adviser on Enterprise, said: “Our world-class universities and business schools are a key part of the UK economy – even more so as a result of this initiative.

“I hope that these awards will be the first of many and build on the outstanding work our business schools do to boost enterprise locally.”

Rekha Mehr, interim Managing Director, Small Business Charter, said: “Micro-businesses make up 95% of UK businesses and play a crucial role in the structure of our economy. We need to further their growth and the Small Business Charter recognizes UK business schools who are doing just that.

“Our accredited schools have made real impact in the last 18 months, directly supporting over 8,000 businesses, placing over 4,700 students on real business projects and helping students to start over 800 new businesses.”

The Small Business Charter Awards are supported by the Association of Business Schools, Lord Young, and the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.



Notes to editor:

The 20 Business Schools awarded the Small Business Charter are:

-          Aston University, Aston Business School

-          Coventry University, Coventry Business School

-          Edinburgh Napier Business School

-          Kingston University, Kingston Business School

-          Lancaster University Management School

-          Loughborough University School of Business and Economics

-          Manchester Metropolitan University Business

-          Nottingham Trent University, Nottingham Business School

-          Southampton Solent University, Faculty of Business, Sport & Enterprise

-          University College London, Department of Management Science and Innovation

-          University of Birmingham, Birmingham Business School

-          University of Leeds, Leeds University Business

-          University of Leicester School of Management

-          University of Liverpool Management School

-          University of Northampton Business School

-          University of Nottingham, Nottingham University Business School

-          University of Salford, Salford Business School

-          University of Strathclyde, Strathclyde Business School

-          University of the West of England, Bristol Business School

-          University of Wolverhampton Business School


For more information about the SBC:

For any more information contact Patrick McFall at or call 0131 455 6314

[Read More]

Associated people